Craniosacral Rhythm

The craniosacral system is located between the cranium and the sacrum. The skull, spine and sacrum are lined with the cerebral and spinal cord skins, the meninges. These serve as a container for the cerebrospinal fluid. The CSF protects the brain and central nervous system from shock and allows freedom of movement in the spinal canal. It supplies it with nutrients and transports waste products.

Besides respiration and pulse rate, the wave-like movement of the cerebrospinal fluid, the craniosacral rhythm, is a unique and superordinate body-rhythm. It is palpable in the entire body. In a healthy person, this rhythm flows harmoniously and symmetrically. Due to various disorders such as severe births, accidents, injuries, surgery, but also psychosomatic processes or trauma, the rhythm can be restricted.

The craniosacral system is associated to many other structures (e.g. nerves, hormones, respiration, muscular and skeletal system, blood circulation). Imbalances can be transferred from one system to another. On the other hand, a better balance in the craniosacral system has a balancing and supportive effect on the other structures and thus leads to more coherence in the entire organism.

Der Craniosakrale Rhythmus

Zwischen dem Schädel (Cranium) und dem Kreuzbein (Sacrum) befindet sich unser Craniosakrales System. Schädel, Wirbelsäule und Kreuzbein sind mit den Hirn- und Rückenmarkshäuten ausgekleidet. Diese dienen als Behältnis für den Liquor, die Hirn- und Rückenmarksflüssigkeit. Der Liquor schützt das Gehirn und Zentralnervensystem vor Erschütterungen und ermöglicht Bewegungsfreiheit im Spinalkanal. Er versorgt es mit Nährstoffen und transportiert Schlackenstoffe ab.

Die wellenförmige Eigenbewegung des Liquors, der Craniosakrale Rhythmus, stellt neben Atmung und Pulsfrequenz einen eigenen, übergeordneten Körperrhythmus dar, der am ganzen Körper spürbar ist. Bei einem gesunden Menschen fließt dieser Rhythmus harmonisch und symmetrisch. Durch verschiedene Störungen wie schwere Geburten, Unfälle, Verletzungen, Operationen, aber auch psychosomatische Prozesse oder Traumata kann der Rhythmus eingeschränkt werden.

Das Craniosakrale System steht mit vielen anderen Strukturen ( z.B. Nerven, Hormonen, Atmung, Muskeln / Skelett, Blutkreislauf) in Verbindung. Ungleichgewichte können sich von einem System auf ein anderes übertragen. Andersherum wirkt sich eine bessere Balance im Craniosakralen System ausgleichend und unterstützend auf die anderen Strukturen aus und führt so zu mehr Kohärenz im gesamten Organismus.