Origin of Somatic Experiencing® (SE)

Peter A. Levine, Ph.D. (born 1942), psychologist and biophysicist, developed and expanded the Somatic Experiencing® method since the 1970s.

He observed that animals in the wild are not traumatized, although they constantly experience threatening situations. If they can not fight or flee, they instinctively go into a state of freeze. When the threat is over, they detach from the freeze by shivering, shaking or jumping. Their body returns to its natural, awake and relaxed state. In humans, this solution process often fails because the rational parts of the brain inhibit the instinctive processes, and many symptoms can develop.
Based on these observations, Peter Levine developed a method to address the instinctive parts of the nervous system and thus complete the biological cycle of orienting, fight / flight, freeze and discharge.

Peter Levine is founder of the Somatic Experience Trauma Insitute and is the author of various publications, i.a. "Waking the Tiger - Healing Trauma" and "In an Unspoken Voice; How the Body Releases Trauma and Restores Goodness".

Ursprung von Somatic Experiencing® (SE)

Dr. Peter A. Levine (geb. 1942), Psychologe und Biophysiker, entwickelte und erweiterte seit den 1970er Jahren die Methode des Somatic Experiencing®. 

Er beobachtete, dass Tiere in freier Wildbahn nicht traumatisiert werden, obwohl sie ständig bedrohliche Situationen erleben. Wenn sie nicht kämpfen oder fliehen können, gehen sie instinktiv in einen Erstarrungszustand. Wenn die bedrohliche Situation vorüber ist, lösen sie sich durch Zittern, Schütteln oder Springen aus der Erstarrung. Ihr Körper kehrt in seinen ursprünglichen, wach-entspannten Zustand zurück. Beim Menschen bleibt dieser Lösungsprozess häufig aus, da die rationalen Anteile des Gehirns die instinktiven Prozesse hemmen, und es können vielgestaltige Symptome entstehen.
Auf der Grundlage dieser Beobachtungen entwickelte Dr. Peter Levine eine Methode, die instinktiven Anteile des Nervensystems anzusprechen und so den biologischen Zyklus von Orientierung, Kampf, Flucht, Erstarrung und Entladung zu vervollständigen.

Dr. Peter Levine ist Gründer des Somatic Experience Trauma Insitute und Autor diverser Publikationen, u.a. "Trauma-Heilung; Das Erwachen des Tigers" und "Sprache ohne Worte; Wie unser Körper Trauma verarbeitet und uns in die innere Balance zurückführt".