How does SE (Somatic Experiencing®) work?

Somatic Experiencing®, abbreviated to SE, works less the traumatic event itself than with the response of the body and nervous system to the event. Thus it is possible to work without content or explicit memory, if the event seems too stressful.

The essential elements of SE work are the strengthening of resources and the tracking of bodily sensations, thoughts, feelings and images. Attentive pendulation between resourcing and trauma-related sensations gradually resolves the energy that is held in the nervous system, and the body´s natural response to the threat can be completed.
To allow the body to reorganize and integrate the changes, the discharge happens in small steps and at the client´s own, natural pace. This avoids that the client relives the situation in full emotional charge (catharsis) and so can be overwhelmed and retraumatized.

By gradually discharging and completing the survival reaction, the traumatic symptoms of the organism are no longer needed and can be released. The natural ability of the organism to self-regulate is restored. This is often accompanied by a sense of liberation, ease and gratitude.

As further effects can be shown:

  • increase of lust for life and self-esteem
  • greater resilience and even temper
  • emotional balance, psychological stability
  • relief or freedom of pain and other symptoms
  • restful sleep

Wie hilft SE (Somatic Experiencing®)?

Im Somatic Experiencing®, kurz SE genannt, wird weniger mit dem traumatisierenden Ereignis gearbeitet, sondern vielmehr mit der Reaktion des Körpers und Nervensystems darauf. Dadurch ist es auch möglich, ohne Inhalt oder bewusste Erinnerung zu arbeiten, wenn das Ereignis zu belastend erscheint.

Die wesentlichen Elemente der Therapie sind die Stärkung der Ressourcen und das Nachspüren von Körperempfindungen, Gedanken, Gefühlen und Bildern. Durch das achtsame Pendeln zwischen ressourcen- und traumabedingten Empfindungen wird in kleinen Schritten die im Nervensystem gebundene Energie gelöst und die natürliche Reaktion des Körpers auf die empfundene Bedrohung vollendet.
Damit der Körper sich reorganisieren und die Veränderung integrieren kann, erfolgt die Entladung in kleinen Schritten und im eigenen, natürlichen Tempo des Klienten. Hierdurch wird vermieden, dass der Klient die Situation in voller emotionaler Ladung wiedererlebt (Katharsis) und so erneut überwältigt und retraumatisiert werden kann.

Durch die schrittweise kontrollierte Entladung und Komplettierung der Überlebensreaktion werden die traumatischen Symptome vom Organismus nicht mehr benötigt und können sich lösen. Die natürliche Fähigkeit des Organismus zur Selbstregulation wird wiederhergestellt. Dies geht häufig einher mit einem Gefühl von Befreiung, Leichtigkeit und Dankbarkeit.

Als weitere Auswirkungen können sich zeigen:

  • Steigerung von Lebensfreude und Selbstwertgefühl
  • größere Belastbarkeit und Ausgeglichenheit
  • emotionale Balance, psychische Stabilität
  • Linderung oder Befreiung von Schmerzen und anderen Symptomen
  • erholsamer Schlaf